Permissions

Permissions

DataSight application security allows administrators to enable and disable modules in DataSight for different accounts. As yet, DataSight does not effect true data specific security.

The table below details what permissions are able to be granted or denied in DataSight. Functional modules have an Execute permission, and the permission to View/Use, Create, Modify and Delete different user generated data and settings can be assigned.

Permission

Execute

View/Use

Create

Modify

Delete

Calculation

Y/N

 

 

 

 

Calculation Templates

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Charts

Y/N

 

 

 

 

Conversion Tables

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Datasheets

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Documents

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Equipment

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Export/Print

Y/N

 

 

 

 

Flags

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Gaugings

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Graphical Flags

Y/N

 

 

 

 

Import

Y/N

 

 

 

 

Import Templates

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Level 3 Properties

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Level Construction

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Level Histories

 

Y/N

 

 

 

Levels

 

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Lock Data

Y/N

 

 

 

 

Manual Data Entry

Y/N

 

 

 

 

Manual Data Entry Templates

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Maps

Y/N

 

 

 

 

Person

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Public Dashboard

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Reference

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Regressions

Y/N

 

 

 

 

Report Designer

Y/N

 

 

 

 

Saved Views

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Security

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Standards

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Tasks

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Unlock Data

Y/N

 

 

 

 

User Dashboard

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Variable Groups

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Variables

 

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y/N

Y=Granted; N=Denied; Empty cell means neither a grant nor a deny permission has been selected.

If a user is granted permission to use a module or feature in DataSight, then they are granted that permission everywhere whether a group they belong to has not been granted that permission. See Set Permissions to learn more.

The users will retain the last group privileges that they have been allocated even if the group has been deleted. All users should be allocated to groups.

 

See also:

  • Accounts

1.1.1.   Set Permissions

Assign permissions to a user or group

  1. Click User Management. The Security window will open.
  2. Select the Users or Groups radio button.
  3. Select the User or Group and click Permission. The Permissions window will open.
  4. Checkboxes can be ticked to (grant) or (deny)  to View/Use, Create, Modify and Delete various user generated files or data. If a box is not checked, then the user or group is neither granted nor denied permission.
  5. Click OK to save.

Note

1.       If a permission is neither granted nor denied, then the default setting for that permission is denied.

2.       Deny anywhere for any user or group overrides all other granted permissions.

For example, consider DemoUser who is a part of group Admin.

a.    If DemoUser is denied permission to execute charts, then regardless of the group permission of Admin to execute charts, DemoUser's  permission remains denied to execute charts.

b.    Likewise if Admin is denied permission to execute calculations, then regardless of DemoUser's user permission to execute calculations, DemoUser's  permission remains denied to execute calculations. 

 

Modify a user or group permissions

  1. Click the Users or Groups radio button.
  2. Select the User or Group and click Permission. The Permissions window will open.
  3. Modify the permissions and click OK.

 

See also:

  • Modes of User Authentication
  • Accounts